Bazaruto Archipelago

Mozambique - Southern Mozambique

The Bazaruto Archipelago consists of five idyllic islands: Bazaruto, Benguerra, Magaruque, Santa Carolina and Bangue. The Archipelago is genuinely one of the most beautiful destinations on the African continent.

The area is now protected as a conservation area and national park, including the coral reefs surrounding the islands, making it the only official marine reserve in the country. The park is one of the largest in the Indian Ocean and a significant achievement in global marine conservation.

100 elusive dugongs, three species of turtles and many dolphins inhabit the waters. Up to 178 species of birds and a small Nile crocodile colony live on Benguerra Island. Small antelopes, duiker, suni, squirrels, samango monkeys, snakes, bushbucks and flamingos also share this little Eden.

smiling white male wearing a backpack

Ready to discuss your trip to Mozambique?

Speak to one of our travel specialists and we’ll create your personalised itinerary just for you.

Start Planning